The Research Society for American Periodicals


President: Amanda Gailey, University of Nebraska-Lincoln (2015-2017)

Amanda Gailey is an associate professor of English and a fellow at the Center for Digital Research in the Humanities at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, where she teaches nineteenth-century American literature and digital text studies. She is the co-editor of Scholarly Editing: The Annual of the Association for Documentary Editing and The Tar Baby and the Tomahawk: Race and Ethnic Images in American Children’s Literature, 1880-1939. Her book, Proofs of Genius: Collected Editions from the American Revolution to the Digital Age will be published by the University of Michigan Press in 2015.

Vice President/ President-Elect: Mark Noonan, NYC College of Technology (2015-2017)

Mark Noonan is associate professor of English at New York City College of Technology (CUNY). He is author of Reading the Century Illustrated Monthly Magazine: American Literature and Culture, 1870-1893 as well as articles on Paul Laurence Dunbar, Frances Hodgson Burnett, Norman Mailer, and Mad Magazine. He is co-editor of The Place Where We Dwell: Reading and Writing about New York City and served as Executive Editor of the Columbia Journal of American Studies from 1998-2009. In 2015, he served as Director of the NEH Summer Institute, “City of Print: New York and the Periodical Press.”

Treasurer: Timothy Helwig, Western Illinois University (2015-2017)

Timothy Helwig is an associate professor of English at Western Illinois University, where he teaches undergraduate and graduate courses in nineteenth-century American literature, African-American literature, and working-class American fiction. He has held short-term research fellowships at the American Antiquarian Society and the Library Company of Philadelphia, and he has published articles in American Studies and American Periodicals.

Secretary: James Berkey, Penn State Brandywine (2016-2018)

James Berkey is an assistant professor of English and the director of the Writing Studio at Penn State Brandywine, where he teaches nineteenth-century American literature and American Studies.  He has published articles in the Journal of Transnational American StudiesJournal of Modern Periodical Studies, and Literary Cultures of the Civil War (ed. Timothy Sweet). He recently co-edited a special issue of American Periodicals (Fall 2016) on war and periodicals with Mark Noonan, and he won the 2013 Proquest/RSAP Article Prize for his article, “Splendid Little Papers from the ‘Splendid Little War’: Mapping Empire in the Soldier Newspapers of the Spanish-American War.”

Advisory Board

James Casey, University of Delaware (2016-2019, first term)
Kathleen Diffley, University of Iowa (2016-2019, 2nd term)
Benjamin Fagan, University of Arkansas (2015-2018, 2nd term)
M. Montserrat Feu-Lopez, Sam Houston State University (2016-2019, 1st term)
Florian Freitag, Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz (2016-2019, 1st term)
Eric Gardner, Saginaw Valley State University (2014-2017, 2nd term)
Sara Lindey, St. Vincent College (2015-2018, 2nd term)
Brian Sweeney, College of St. Rose (2016-2019, first term)